You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.


National Professional Qualifications

The DfE accredits a range of providers to design, deliver, and assess the National Professional Qualifications (NPQs). Tykes TA works in partnership with our local licence holder, Learners First to deliver the qualifications to leaders across South Yorkshire;

The NPQs comprise:

National Professional Qualification for Middle Leadership (NPQML) for those that are, or are aspiring to be, a middle leader with responsibility for leading a team.


National Professional Qualification for Senior Leadership (NPQSL) for leaders that are, or are aspiring to be, a senior leader with cross-school responsibilities.


National Professional Qualification for Headship (NPQH) for leaders that are, or are aspiring to be, a headteacher or head of school with responsibility for leading a school.


National Professional Qualification for Executive Leadership (NPQEL) for leaders that are, or are aspiring to be, an executive headteacher or MAT CEO role with responsibility for leading several schools.


There are six content areas for each NPQ, which set out what a leader should know or be able to do. The six content areas are common to each NPQ, but the knowledge and skills within them increases in sophistication, depth and breadth progressively through the NPQ levels. The six content areas are:
• strategy and improvement
• teaching and curriculum excellence
• leading with impact
• working in partnership
• managing resources and risks
• increasing capability

There are seven leadership behaviours, common to each NPQ level, which set out how the best leaders operate. They are:
• commitment
• collaboration
• personal drive
• resilience
• awareness
• integrity
• respect

For further information about the programmes and how to apply please click on the relevant link above.